Radiator problems need advice

Background: I live in a second apartment above my grandmothers house. Much of the work or repairs she has done are by individual people and not legitimate companies. So when something needs to be fixed she’ll call “Jerry” or “Frank.”

So apparently last night the heat turned off, and so my grandmother called this morning and had somebody fix it; not sure what the diagnosis was. I really don’t use the radiators except in the bathroom as the apartment quickly becomes sweltering hot, and rather I keep our Mitsubishi set to 69 and the heat from my grandmothers apartment downstairs is usually enough for me.

I woke up around 9 to run to the bank which took like 2 hours unfortunately but when I got home I heard what sounded like a pipe leaking or water boiling and there was steam filtering out through under the bathroom door. I figured it was the radiator and when I called grandma she confirmed that someone had just come to fix the heat.

I turned on the living room radiator thinking I needed to allow more steam through the system or something. Now both the living room and bathroom radiators are hissing loudly and slowly dripping from the little thing on the opposite side of the pipes. The entire apartment is beginning t feel like a sauna.

Any advice?

submitted by /u/Chinaksy
[link] [comments]


Leave a comment