Please help us new home owners pick a style of vinyl siding to use.

The siding on our house is old Vinyl that was a home done job from the previous owners. They did it incorrectly and without wrap etc etc and lots of it is falling off and cracked.

Before everyone says skip the vinyl and go with hardie… I would absolutely love to get hardie board, but we are young new home owners and simply can't afford it. I am someone who is not willing spend beyond my means and live financially stressed. Vinyl is 50% of the price, so that is what we have to go with.

We have it all priced and figured out but we are having touble deciding on the style of siding (triple lap, dutch lap, clapboard etc…) an Image of what I mean. https://mycoastalwindows.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/premium-siding-inches.png

Is one or the other more IN STYLE? I see a lot of early 2000's houses seemed to like the triple lap in my area. If you had to choose one style what would it be?

Thank you and sorry if I'm not supposed to post this kind of stuff here… i'm new šŸ˜

EDIT: I'm told it depends on the style of house. My house is a small 1500 sq foot 1 floor rancher on a slab. It's an L shaped house. It's rectangular with 1 piece sticking out the front toward the driveway.

EDIT 2: If it matters, we are going to put hardi shake on the front of the L piece that sticks out. So whatever vinyl we choose will be next to a bit of shake.

submitted by /u/CUNTY_CANADIAN
[link] [comments]


Leave a comment